PC Game Reviews

Far Cry 4 PC Review

Far Cry is an unusual series, insofar as none of the games have borne much more than a passing resemblance to each other.

22 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Rugby 15 Review

There are new football games every single year, but rugby is a sport that’s been hit and miss when transferred to the world of videogames.

21 Nov 2014 | 3 |

Company of Heroes 2: Ardennes Assault Review

Here’s a quick clarification so Company of Heroes 2 players can determine their level of interest in Ardennes Assault: there’s no multiplayer stuff.

18 Nov 2014 | 1 |

Randal’s Monday Review

If there’s a particular art to making an adventure game, I reckon it comes down to the puzzles more than anything.

13 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Review

This review discusses the campaign’s story at length. I’m not going to spoil anything that hasn’t already been spoiled in pre-release trailers, but these days, I think that still deserves a bit of a warning.

7 Nov 2014 | 1 |

Football Manager 2015 Review

I have a suspicion that most of the people who read the annual Football Manager reviews are those who are 99.7% sure they’re going to buy the latest installment of the game.

6 Nov 2014 | 2 |

Alien: Isolation Review

Warning: this review contains spoilers for a movie that was released 35 years ago.

29 Oct 2014 | 4 |

Lords of the Fallen Review

Successful innovators tend to be emulated. For a time, every shooter released after Doom was a ‘Doom clone.’ Some of them deserved that name.

28 Oct 2014 | 23 |

Dreamfall Chapters: Book One Review

Sorry, everyone, but I’m going to have to drop into melodrama and feelings for a little bit.

22 Oct 2014 | 3 |

Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers Remake Review

Tim McDonald: I have written so many introductions to news items or articles about Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers – 20th Anniversary Edition that I don’t know where to begin without just rehashing them all at once.

17 Oct 2014 | 8 |

Ryse: Son of Rome PC Review

Crytek’s Ryse: Son of Rome may not be a particularly strong blip on the radars of many PC players.

13 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

Styx: Master of Shadows Review

Here’s the good news: Styx: Master of Shadows is better than this year’s Thief game.

8 Oct 2014 | 14 |

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review

Let’s not beat around the bush: you’re interested in the Nemesis system.

6 Oct 2014 | 8 |

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Ivory King DLC Review

If you’ve read my reviews of the preceeding couple of installments in the Dark Souls 2 Lost Crowns DLC trilogy, you’ll know I’ve been impressed.

4 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

Gauntlet Review

Back in the good old days much of my time was spent in airport lounges which usually featured a couple of arcade cabinets, and the two games that excited me most were Super Sprint and Gauntlet.

3 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

FIFA 15 Review

Before we get right into this FIFA 15 review, let me take you on a fanciful journey into the future.

29 Sep 2014 | 1 |

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution PC Review

Right, let’s get the obvious disclaimer out of the way. If you know nothing about Naruto – if you don’t know your Rasengan from your Chidori and your Konohamaru from your Konohagakure, and if you think Akatsuki is something spicy you have with rice – then you will get almost no enjoyment out of Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution at all.

26 Sep 2014 | 1 |

SpaceCom Review

When I see a top-down map of space with little planets or waypoints, I generally get The Fear™.

25 Sep 2014 | 1 |

Endless Legend Review

Endless Legend is a 4x strategy title that’s frustratingly close to being sublime.

22 Sep 2014 | 4 |