PC Game Reviews

Tales from the Borderlands: Episode One Review

Shocking news, everyone! For once, this isn’t going to be a review with the typical episodic disclaimer of “it seems okay, but it all comes down to how the other episodes turn out blah blah blah.” There’s still some truth in that for Tales from the Borderlands – there’s no way to buy just one episode on PC, so I can still only review a fifth of what we’re actually paying for – but I have some concrete opinions about that fifth.

27 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Rollers of the Realm Review

With the cavalcade of pre-Thanksgiving blockbusters now beginning to fade into a distant plume of dust, it’s refreshing to look at a game that’s trying something a bit different.

24 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Far Cry 4 PC Review

Far Cry is an unusual series, insofar as none of the games have borne much more than a passing resemblance to each other.

22 Nov 2014 | 10 |

Rugby 15 Review

There are new football games every single year, but rugby is a sport that’s been hit and miss when transferred to the world of videogames.

21 Nov 2014 | 4 |

Company of Heroes 2: Ardennes Assault Review

Here’s a quick clarification so Company of Heroes 2 players can determine their level of interest in Ardennes Assault: there’s no multiplayer stuff.

18 Nov 2014 | 1 |

Randal’s Monday Review

If there’s a particular art to making an adventure game, I reckon it comes down to the puzzles more than anything.

13 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Review

This review discusses the campaign’s story at length. I’m not going to spoil anything that hasn’t already been spoiled in pre-release trailers, but these days, I think that still deserves a bit of a warning.

7 Nov 2014 | 1 |

Football Manager 2015 Review

I have a suspicion that most of the people who read the annual Football Manager reviews are those who are 99.7% sure they’re going to buy the latest installment of the game.

6 Nov 2014 | 2 |

Alien: Isolation Review

Warning: this review contains spoilers for a movie that was released 35 years ago.

29 Oct 2014 | 4 |

Lords of the Fallen Review

Successful innovators tend to be emulated. For a time, every shooter released after Doom was a ‘Doom clone.’ Some of them deserved that name.

28 Oct 2014 | 24 |

Dreamfall Chapters: Book One Review

Sorry, everyone, but I’m going to have to drop into melodrama and feelings for a little bit.

22 Oct 2014 | 3 |

Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers Remake Review

Tim McDonald: I have written so many introductions to news items or articles about Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers – 20th Anniversary Edition that I don’t know where to begin without just rehashing them all at once.

17 Oct 2014 | 8 |

Ryse: Son of Rome PC Review

Crytek’s Ryse: Son of Rome may not be a particularly strong blip on the radars of many PC players.

13 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

Styx: Master of Shadows Review

Here’s the good news: Styx: Master of Shadows is better than this year’s Thief game.

8 Oct 2014 | 14 |

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review

Let’s not beat around the bush: you’re interested in the Nemesis system.

6 Oct 2014 | 8 |

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Ivory King DLC Review

If you’ve read my reviews of the preceeding couple of installments in the Dark Souls 2 Lost Crowns DLC trilogy, you’ll know I’ve been impressed.

4 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

Gauntlet Review

Back in the good old days much of my time was spent in airport lounges which usually featured a couple of arcade cabinets, and the two games that excited me most were Super Sprint and Gauntlet.

3 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

FIFA 15 Review

Before we get right into this FIFA 15 review, let me take you on a fanciful journey into the future.

29 Sep 2014 | 1 |

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution PC Review

Right, let’s get the obvious disclaimer out of the way. If you know nothing about Naruto – if you don’t know your Rasengan from your Chidori and your Konohamaru from your Konohagakure, and if you think Akatsuki is something spicy you have with rice – then you will get almost no enjoyment out of Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution at all.

26 Sep 2014 | 1 |