PC Game Reviews

Elite: Dangerous Review

Before we get to the imploding heat-fusion core of this review, here’s something important to remember about Elite: Dangerous: it’s an always-online game where even the single player component requires a semi-constant connection.

16 Dec 2014 | 36 |

Dragon Age: Inquisition Review

By now, you’ve probably read plenty of other reviews extolling the numerous sacred virtues of Dragon Age: Inquisition.

8 Dec 2014 | 56 |

Game of Thrones: Episode One – Iron From Ice Review

Telltale’s foray into the Game of Thrones universe opens at the Red Wedding and doesn’t get much cheerier from there.

4 Dec 2014 | 0 |

The Old City: Leviathan Review

A lot of people are going to have strong, emotional reactions The Old City: Leviathan.

3 Dec 2014 | 0 |

Starpoint Gemini 2 Review

Starpoint Gemini 2 has been out for a while now, but it’s one of those games that I’ve been ducking in and out of since its release.

1 Dec 2014 | 0 |

Tales from the Borderlands: Episode One Review

Shocking news, everyone! For once, this isn’t going to be a review with the typical episodic disclaimer of “it seems okay, but it all comes down to how the other episodes turn out blah blah blah.” There’s still some truth in that for Tales from the Borderlands – there’s no way to buy just one episode on PC, so I can still only review a fifth of what we’re actually paying for – but I have some concrete opinions about that fifth.

27 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Rollers of the Realm Review

With the cavalcade of pre-Thanksgiving blockbusters now beginning to fade into a distant plume of dust, it’s refreshing to look at a game that’s trying something a bit different.

24 Nov 2014 | 0 |

Far Cry 4 PC Review

Far Cry is an unusual series, insofar as none of the games have borne much more than a passing resemblance to each other.

22 Nov 2014 | 11 |

Rugby 15 Review

There are new football games every single year, but rugby is a sport that’s been hit and miss when transferred to the world of videogames.

21 Nov 2014 | 5 |

Company of Heroes 2: Ardennes Assault Review

Here’s a quick clarification so Company of Heroes 2 players can determine their level of interest in Ardennes Assault: there’s no multiplayer stuff.

18 Nov 2014 | 2 |

Randal’s Monday Review

If there’s a particular art to making an adventure game, I reckon it comes down to the puzzles more than anything.

13 Nov 2014 | Comments Off |

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Review

This review discusses the campaign’s story at length. I’m not going to spoil anything that hasn’t already been spoiled in pre-release trailers, but these days, I think that still deserves a bit of a warning.

7 Nov 2014 | 1 |

Football Manager 2015 Review

I have a suspicion that most of the people who read the annual Football Manager reviews are those who are 99.7% sure they’re going to buy the latest installment of the game.

6 Nov 2014 | 2 |

Alien: Isolation Review

Warning: this review contains spoilers for a movie that was released 35 years ago.

29 Oct 2014 | 4 |

Lords of the Fallen Review

Successful innovators tend to be emulated. For a time, every shooter released after Doom was a ‘Doom clone.’ Some of them deserved that name.

28 Oct 2014 | 24 |

Dreamfall Chapters: Book One Review

Sorry, everyone, but I’m going to have to drop into melodrama and feelings for a little bit.

22 Oct 2014 | 3 |

Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers Remake Review

Tim McDonald: I have written so many introductions to news items or articles about Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers – 20th Anniversary Edition that I don’t know where to begin without just rehashing them all at once.

17 Oct 2014 | 8 |

Ryse: Son of Rome PC Review

Crytek’s Ryse: Son of Rome may not be a particularly strong blip on the radars of many PC players.

13 Oct 2014 | Comments Off |

Styx: Master of Shadows Review

Here’s the good news: Styx: Master of Shadows is better than this year’s Thief game.

8 Oct 2014 | 14 |