PC Reviews


Rollers of the Realm Review

With the cavalcade of pre-Thanksgiving blockbusters now beginning to fade into a distant plume of dust, it’s refreshing to look at a game that’s trying something a bit different.

By Peter Parrish | 24 Nov 2014 | 0

Far Cry 4 PC Review

Far Cry is an unusual series, insofar as none of the games have borne much more than a passing resemblance to each other.

By Tim McDonald | 22 Nov 2014 | 10

Rugby 15 Review

There are new football games every single year, but rugby is a sport that’s been hit and miss when transferred to the world of videogames.

By Paul Younger | 21 Nov 2014 | 4

Company of Heroes 2: Ardennes Assault Review

Here’s a quick clarification so Company of Heroes 2 players can determine their level of interest in Ardennes Assault: there’s no multiplayer stuff.

By Peter Parrish | 18 Nov 2014 | 1

Randal’s Monday Review

If there’s a particular art to making an adventure game, I reckon it comes down to the puzzles more than anything.

By Tim McDonald | 13 Nov 2014 | 0

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Review

This review discusses the campaign’s story at length. I’m not going to spoil anything that hasn’t already been spoiled in pre-release trailers, but these days, I think that still deserves a bit of a warning.

By Tim McDonald | 7 Nov 2014 | 1

Football Manager 2015 Review

I have a suspicion that most of the people who read the annual Football Manager reviews are those who are 99.7% sure they’re going to buy the latest installment of the game.

By Peter Parrish | 6 Nov 2014 | 2

Alien: Isolation Review

Warning: this review contains spoilers for a movie that was released 35 years ago.

By Tim McDonald | 29 Oct 2014 | 4

Lords of the Fallen Review

Successful innovators tend to be emulated. For a time, every shooter released after Doom was a ‘Doom clone.’ Some of them deserved that name.

By Peter Parrish | 28 Oct 2014 | 24

Dreamfall Chapters: Book One Review

Sorry, everyone, but I’m going to have to drop into melodrama and feelings for a little bit.

By Tim McDonald | 22 Oct 2014 | 3

Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers Remake Review

Tim McDonald: I have written so many introductions to news items or articles about Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers – 20th Anniversary Edition that I don’t know where to begin without just rehashing them all at once.

By Tim McDonald | 17 Oct 2014 | 8

Ryse: Son of Rome PC Review

Crytek’s Ryse: Son of Rome may not be a particularly strong blip on the radars of many PC players.

By Peter Parrish | 13 Oct 2014 | Comments Off

Styx: Master of Shadows Review

Here’s the good news: Styx: Master of Shadows is better than this year’s Thief game.

By Peter Parrish | 8 Oct 2014 | 14

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor Review

Let’s not beat around the bush: you’re interested in the Nemesis system.

By Tim McDonald | 6 Oct 2014 | 8

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Ivory King DLC Review

If you’ve read my reviews of the preceeding couple of installments in the Dark Souls 2 Lost Crowns DLC trilogy, you’ll know I’ve been impressed.

By Peter Parrish | 4 Oct 2014 | Comments Off

Gauntlet Review

Back in the good old days much of my time was spent in airport lounges which usually featured a couple of arcade cabinets, and the two games that excited me most were Super Sprint and Gauntlet.

By Paul Younger | 3 Oct 2014 | Comments Off

FIFA 15 Review

Before we get right into this FIFA 15 review, let me take you on a fanciful journey into the future.

By Peter Parrish | 29 Sep 2014 | 1

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution PC Review

Right, let’s get the obvious disclaimer out of the way. If you know nothing about Naruto – if you don’t know your Rasengan from your Chidori and your Konohamaru from your Konohagakure, and if you think Akatsuki is something spicy you have with rice – then you will get almost no enjoyment out of Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Revolution at all.

By Tim McDonald | 26 Sep 2014 | 1

SpaceCom Review

When I see a top-down map of space with little planets or waypoints, I generally get The Fear™.

By Paul Younger | 25 Sep 2014 | 1

Endless Legend Review

Endless Legend is a 4x strategy title that’s frustratingly close to being sublime.

By Peter Parrish | 22 Sep 2014 | 4

Pro Rugby Manager 2015 Review

Cyanide return to the rugby management genre after a decade away with a new title in the Pro Rugby Manager series, Pro Rugby Manager 2015.

By Paul Younger | 19 Sep 2014 | 3

Age of Wonders 3: Golden Realms DLC Review

Golden Realms is the first expansion for Age of Wonders 3, and coincides with the release of a free patch for all Age of Wonders 3 players containing changes to the game’s mechanics based on the past few months of community feedback.

By David Reid | 19 Sep 2014 | 2

The Sims 4 Review

The Sims 4 is not a bad game. Really, it’s not.

By Tim McDonald | 15 Sep 2014 | 6

Dead Rising 3 PC Review

It kinda makes me laugh that, in the years since we rediscovered our love of brutally difficult games that require you to replay bits over and over again to proceed (Dark Souls, I’m looking at you), the Dead Rising series has become significantly easier and more accessible.

By Tim McDonald | 9 Sep 2014 | 5

Hatoful Boyfriend Review

Over the past few days I’ve been playing an interactive novel of school-day politics, conspiratorial tension, espionage, murder and overly cautious scooter-based road safety.

By Peter Parrish | 7 Sep 2014 | 2

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Old Iron King DLC Review

The harder aspects of Crown of the Old Iron King make it plain that FromSoftware are in a kind of difficulty arms race with their players.

By Peter Parrish | 1 Sep 2014 | 1

Kick-Ass 2 Review / Playthrough

I really don’t know where to begin with this. I have played Kick-Ass 2 for about seven hours.

By Tim McDonald | 27 Aug 2014 | 17

Pure Pool Review

Unless you play professionally, a lot of what constitutes a good game of pool relies on circumstance and atmosphere.

By Peter Parrish | 5 Aug 2014 | 3

The Walking Dead Season 2: Episode 4 – Amid the Ruins Review

After finishing a play-through of Telltale’s penultimate episode in The Walking Dead Season Two, I went back over my reviews of the other three episodes to see what my reactions, reservations and predictions were for the directions of this Clementine-centric series.

By Peter Parrish | 28 Jul 2014 | Comments Off

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Sunken King DLC Review

Imagine being on the FromSoft team for Dark Souls 2. Tremendously exciting, sure, but you’re also weighed down by the impossible burden of having to follow up Demon’s Souls and the original Dark Souls.

By Peter Parrish | 25 Jul 2014 | 1