or login with



PC Reviews


The Sims 4 Review

The Sims 4 is not a bad game. Really, it’s not.

By Tim McDonald | 15 Sep 2014 | 1

Dead Rising 3 PC Review

It kinda makes me laugh that, in the years since we rediscovered our love of brutally difficult games that require you to replay bits over and over again to proceed (Dark Souls, I’m looking at you), the Dead Rising series has become significantly easier and more accessible.

By Tim McDonald | 9 Sep 2014 | 5

Hatoful Boyfriend Review

Over the past few days I’ve been playing an interactive novel of school-day politics, conspiratorial tension, espionage, murder and overly cautious scooter-based road safety.

By Peter Parrish | 7 Sep 2014 | 2

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Old Iron King DLC Review

The harder aspects of Crown of the Old Iron King make it plain that FromSoftware are in a kind of difficulty arms race with their players.

By Peter Parrish | 1 Sep 2014 | 1

Kick-Ass 2 Review / Playthrough

I really don’t know where to begin with this. I have played Kick-Ass 2 for about seven hours.

By Tim McDonald | 27 Aug 2014 | 16

Pure Pool Review

Unless you play professionally, a lot of what constitutes a good game of pool relies on circumstance and atmosphere.

By Peter Parrish | 5 Aug 2014 | 3

The Walking Dead Season 2: Episode 4 – Amid the Ruins Review

After finishing a play-through of Telltale’s penultimate episode in The Walking Dead Season Two, I went back over my reviews of the other three episodes to see what my reactions, reservations and predictions were for the directions of this Clementine-centric series.

By Peter Parrish | 28 Jul 2014 | Comments Off

Dark Souls 2 Crown of the Sunken King DLC Review

Imagine being on the FromSoft team for Dark Souls 2. Tremendously exciting, sure, but you’re also weighed down by the impossible burden of having to follow up Demon’s Souls and the original Dark Souls.

By Peter Parrish | 25 Jul 2014 | 1

Gods Will Be Watching Review

Hey, everyone! It’s Invent A New Genre time! I have hereby decided that Gods Will Be Watching is an opaque, point-and-click, resource-management, crisis-management, ethical adventure.

By Tim McDonald | 25 Jul 2014 | Comments Off

Unrest Review

In a week where recriminations have been flying about a couple of high-profile Kickstarter failures, it’s refreshing to be able to write about a project that demonstrates a more positive side of crowd-funding.

By Peter Parrish | 23 Jul 2014 | Comments Off

Abyss Odyssey Review

ACE Team can always be relied upon for intriguing visual design and ideas.

By Peter Parrish | 15 Jul 2014 | 1

Quest for Infamy Review

It’s a hell of a coincidence that, a few short days after a discussion in the comments about how older games with unique concepts should be revisited, I’m reviewing a game that does exactly that.

By Tim McDonald | 11 Jul 2014 | 3

The Wolf Among Us in Review: A Full Season Discussion

Tim McDonald: After what seems like forever, The Wolf Among Us has reached the inevitable conclusion of its first season.

By Tim McDonald | 11 Jul 2014 | Comments Off

Marvel Heroes 2015 Review

We didn’t review Marvel Heroes when it launched last year simply because it felt like a shell of a game.

By Paul Younger | 9 Jul 2014 | Comments Off

Valiant Hearts: The Great War Review

Ubisoft get a lot of justified stick for their record on PC.

By Peter Parrish | 27 Jun 2014 | 2

Sniper Elite 3 Review

There is a simple test to see whether Sniper Elite 3 is for you.

By Tim McDonald | 26 Jun 2014 | 2

Grid Autosport Review

Confession time: I thought Grid 2 was alright. That’s not really an admission on the level of “I killed a guy back in ‘73” or anything, but some people really didn’t enjoy that game and may now question my judgment.

By Peter Parrish | 24 Jun 2014 | 1

Crimsonland Review

Gamers who’ve been going for awhile will tell you of how their high school/university/early career days were nearly screwed over by videogames.

By Tim McDonald | 17 Jun 2014 | Comments Off

State of Decay: Lifeline DLC Review

Lifeline is the second add-on released for Undead Lab’s State of Decay, and takes the zombie-dodging fun out on the road for the first time.

By Peter Parrish | 3 Jun 2014 | 13

Dynasty Warriors 8 Xtreme Legends Complete Edition PC Review

The Dynasty Warriors series makes me feel as if I’m back at school, having to defend a slightly uncool band.

By Peter Parrish | 30 May 2014 | 1

The Wolf Among Us Episode 4: In Sheep’s Clothing Review

Hello, and welcome back to another special episode of “what the fuck can I say about something this short without spoiling either it or the episodes that came before”!

By Tim McDonald | 29 May 2014 | Comments Off

War, The Game Review

Strategy games have come a long way in the past 20 years, and sometimes I feel they can be over-complicated for the sake of trying to do something different.

By Paul Younger | 28 May 2014 | 2

Watch Dogs Review

I’ll say this for Watch_Dogs (which I’m going to call Watch Dogs for this rest of this review, because stylised names can go away): it came at an appropriate time for me.

By Tim McDonald | 27 May 2014 | 14

Wolfenstein: The New Order Review

It turns out that Wolfenstein: The New Order wasn’t quite what I expected.

By Tim McDonald | 23 May 2014 | 13

The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing 2 Review

Prior to the release of the original Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing, I was concerned whether NeoCore could break into the well-heeled world of aRPGs.

By Peter Parrish | 22 May 2014 | 11

Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure Review

Sorry, everyone, but this is going to be one of those weird reviews where I spend most of my time complaining, before explaining why those complaints might not matter and then vaguely recommending the game.

By Tim McDonald | 19 May 2014 | 3

DreadOut Review

Regular readers will know that Tim is our horror game guy, mainly because he’s not good with horror and it makes us laugh.

By Paul Younger | 16 May 2014 | 4

The Walking Dead Season 2: Episode 3 – In Harm’s Way Review

The halfway point in Telltale’s second study of humanity’s ethical fragility is where any kind of ‘buyer’s guide’ critique of the game becomes a bit pointless.

By Peter Parrish | 15 May 2014 | Comments Off

BattleBlock Theater PC Review

While they’re still just a trickle amidst the gushing tap of game releases, semi-reactive narrators have managed to top up a couple of titles in memorable fashion.

By Peter Parrish | 14 May 2014 | Comments Off

Bound by Flame Review

Bound By Flame offers everything we have come to expect from western RPGs – skill trees, customisable equipment, fast-paced combat – and beards.

By Andrew May | 9 May 2014 | 9