Important Message for all IncGamers Readers!

From 26 May this site is no longer being updated. Why? Because we have a new home for PC gaming goodness.

The IncGamers team has now moved to PC Invasion which is all shiny and new.

If you have an IncGamers.com site account it will be active on the new site. Head there now for our welcome post.

Note: All IncGamers content will remain live on this site but the main page will change shortly.

Preparing the field: Total War Rome 2 can be preloaded on Steam today

28 Aug 2013 by Peter Parrish
Preparing the field: Total War Rome 2 can be preloaded on Steam today
Total War: Rome 2 - Pontus

I see these guys are the fashionistas of the Roman world.

While you’re watching interesting historical videos with Mykel Hawke, you can now also pre-load on . This is an even better idea than it is for other games, because Rome II is pretty massive. In total, you’ll need 35GB of hard-drive space for it, and the game pre-load is in the region of 10GB.

Speaking of regions, is warning people that certain editions of the title are region-locked. So if you bought a copy in Russia or India make sure you actually live there. As for when the game itself will fully unlock, that’ll be a shade after midnight (Pacific Time) on 3 September. That’s the earliest possible point of 3 September, rather than the latest possible point. If you’re in other time-zones, this is when you’ll be able to play: 03:00 EDT / 08:00 BST / 09:00 CET / 17:00 AEST.

There’ll also be a Day One patch for the game featuring the Pontus faction (above,) so you’ll have to grab that before playing too (it won’t be part of the pre-load.) IncGamers may or may not be bringing you a review of , because despite repeated promises no review code has shown up yet. We’d like to, because it looks like a good game, but it all rather depends on Sega.

Related to this story
Register an IncGamers account to post comments or use Disqus.
You can also post via a social network.